Jonathan Curtis

Jonathan Curtis is a musician from Nottingham, England. Having worked as a session and freelance live drummer for more than a decade, has now specialises in musical literature, composition, and the snare drum as a solo instrument



Jonathan has authored numerous books on the drums, including:

  • Linear Freedom: A Complete Concept for the Development of Linear Drumming (2017)

  • Broken Time Drumming: A Complete Concept for Developing Broken Time Drumming (2020)

  • Snare Drum Compositions - Volume I (2021)

  • The Snare Drum Virtuoso: Technical Studies for the Development of Technique - (2022, forthcoming)


Jonathan also founded and directs the independent publishing house Artificer Productions, specialising in musical publications and composition.

Forthcoming titles include:

  • Fundamentals of Jazz Composition: An Exploration of Musical Language - Sam Jackson

  • Working in the Music Industry - Paul Hose

Artificer Productions.png